Solar export tariffs
Compare what suppliers pay for electricity exported from solar panels.
Not sure? A typical 4 kWp system in a home that is out in the day might export around half of what it generates.
Check which tariffs you can get
Check before choosing: Only if you buy your electricity from Octopus Energy; Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
Octopus Energy
Outgoing Octopus
- Export rate
- 12p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £240/year
Variable rate: One rate at all times, which the supplier can change with notice.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · Import from Octopus Energy
You must also buy your electricity from Octopus
Rate from the supplier's published tariff data, in place since 1 March 2026. Checked 7 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
Octopus Energy
Outgoing Smart Export Guarantee (12-month fixed)
- Export rate
- 4.1p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £82/year
Fixed rate: The rate stays the same for the contract term.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · No need to import from Octopus Energy
Available if another supplier provides your electricity
Rate from the supplier's published tariff data, in place since 1 February 2022. Checked 7 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Only if you buy your electricity from E.ON Next; Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
E.ON Next
Next Export Exclusive v3
- Export rate
- 13p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £260/year
Fixed rate: The rate stays the same for the contract term.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · Import from E.ON Next
Fixed for 12 months, no exit fee
For E.ON Next electricity customers, not on a time-of-use tariff
Needs consent to half-hourly meter data
Rate as published on E.ON Next's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Only if you buy your electricity from British Gas; Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
British Gas
Export Premium
- Export rate
- 12p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £240/year
Variable rate: One rate at all times, which the supplier can change with notice.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · Import from British Gas
For British Gas electricity customers with systems up to 15 kW
No exit fee
Rate as published on British Gas's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Only if you buy your electricity from ScottishPower; Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
ScottishPower
SmartGen Premium
- Export rate
- 12p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £240/year
Variable rate: One rate at all times, which the supplier can change with notice.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · Import from ScottishPower
For ScottishPower electricity customers
Rate as published on ScottishPower's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Only if you buy your electricity from OVO; Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
OVO
SEG Beyond Exclusive
- Export rate
- 12p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £240/year
Rate type not stated: The supplier's page does not say whether the rate is fixed; check before signing up.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · Import from OVO
For OVO home energy customers with systems up to 30 kW
Rate as published on OVO's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
ScottishPower
SmartGen
- Export rate
- 6p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £120/year
Variable rate: One rate at all times, which the supplier can change with notice.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · No need to import from ScottishPower
Available whoever supplies your electricity
Rate as published on ScottishPower's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Only if you buy your electricity from EDF; Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
EDF
Export Variable Value
- Export rate
- 5.6p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £110/year
Variable rate: One rate at all times, which the supplier can change with notice.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · Import from EDF
For EDF electricity customers
Rate as published on EDF's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
OVO
SEG
- Export rate
- 4p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £80/year
Rate type not stated: The supplier's page does not say whether the rate is fixed; check before signing up.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · No need to import from OVO
For homes whose electricity comes from another supplier
Rate as published on OVO's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariffCheck before choosing: Check your smart meter records exports; Check you have an MCS certificate
EDF
Export Variable
- Export rate
- 3p/kWh
- Estimated export income
- About £60/year
Variable rate: One rate at all times, which the supplier can change with notice.
Requires: Smart export meter · MCS-certified installation · No need to import from EDF
Available whoever supplies your electricity
Rate as published on EDF's website, checked by us on 3 October 2026.
Check tariff
10 tariffs from 6 suppliers, not the whole market.
Octopus Energy rates are read automatically from its published data. Other suppliers’ rates are checked by hand on their own websites, on the date shown on each card, and can change with notice. Tariffs tied to buying solar panels or a battery from the supplier, and time-varying export products, are not listed.
Compare the whole deal, not just the export rate
Some higher export rates are only available if you also buy your electricity from the same supplier. If that supplier’s import tariff has a higher unit rate or standing charge, the extra cost can cancel out the extra export income. If you buy more electricity than you export, a small difference in the import rate can matter more than the export rate.
For each option, subtract the export income from the cost of the import tariff. The lower the result, the better the deal.
Compare whole deals
Enter the import and export rates from each offer. We work out the yearly cost of the electricity you buy, including the standing charge, minus what you earn for exports. Export rates above come from the supplier’s published data; enter the import rates from each supplier’s tariff information.
Enter all three rates to compare.
Enter all three rates to compare.
Enter all three rates to compare.
Assumes the same amount bought and exported under each offer, and rates that stay the same for a year. Check contract length, exit fees and eligibility for each offer.
The Smart Export Guarantee
- Larger electricity suppliers in Great Britain must pay eligible households for renewable electricity they export.
- Each supplier sets its own rate and terms, so payments vary.
- Exports must be measured, normally by a smart meter that records export.
- Suppliers set eligibility rules, usually including an MCS certificate for the installation.
The scheme does not apply in Northern Ireland. Smart Export Guarantee, Ofgem
Suppliers that must offer an export tariff
Ofgem lists these suppliers as Smart Export Guarantee licensees for 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. Each sets its own rate and conditions. Check each supplier’s website for its current export tariff, and whether you must also buy your electricity from it.
Must offer a tariff
- British Gas
- E (Gas and Electricity)
- E.ON Next
- EDF
- Utility Warehouse
- Foxglove Energy
- Fuse Energy
- Octopus Energy
- OVO
- ScottishPower
- So Energy
- Utilita
Offer one voluntarily
- Pozitive Energy
- Ruby Electricity
- Smart Pay Energy
- Voltx Power
Source: Ofgem: Smart Export Guarantee supplier list. Checked 2 October 2026. Rates for suppliers not listed above are not shown because we have not checked them.